Skip to content

About me

This page contains information pertaining my past and current work and educational experience.


High school

In my pursuit of knowledge about computing systems, I first chose to study to become an IT Professional in high school at Istituto Tecnico Industriale Statale G. Galilei, Livorno (Italy), graduating with a final mark of 100/100 in June, 2013.

In high school I learned the basics of programming, a few programming languages, commonly used programming patterns, web technologies, mobile app development, and networking. My schooling experience was also enriched by the participation to a few student competitions, which pushed me to obtain extra knowledge and competences, in addition to the ones acquired during classes.

Bachelor years

After that, I enrolled in University of Pisa (Italy) to obtain a Bachelor Degree in Computer Engineering. During my bachelor years I expanded my knowledge of computer science, along with other engineering areas. In particular I learned about computer architectures, system programming, industrial automation and control systems.

For my bachelor's thesis, I worked on a system for the generation of dynamic and interactive crisis maps. This work, along with my weighted average grades of over 29/30, granted me a final graduation mark of 110 cum laude/110, in September, 2016.

Master years

For my master's program I joined Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna in Pisa, Italy to obtain a Master of Science in Computer Engineering and Embedded Computing Systems. Throughout my master's program I enhanced my knowledge of control systems and system programming. During this time I was exposed to real-time systems, mechatronics, computer architectures, and component frameworks.

For my master thesis, I developed a framework for evaluating the performance of various virtual network switching solutions for Network Function Virtualization (NFV)-like scenarios. You can read my master thesis (along with the papers I published on said work) on my publications page. I then graduated with a final mark of 110 cum laude/110 in October, 2019.

Doctorate years

From October 2019 to December 2022, I've been a Ph.D. Student at Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna in Pisa, Italy, in the Real-Time Systems Laboratory (ReTiS Lab) under the supervision of Prof. Tommaso Cucinotta. During this time, I also spent over 6 months abroad in Switzerland, at the Integrated Systems Laboratory of ETH Zürich, under the supervision of Prof. Luca Benini.

My research activity focused in Emerging Digital Technologies and Embedded Systems. In particular, I conduct research on the energy consumption of real-time tasks on embedded platforms, like ARM-based devices running Linux.

Check out my publications page for some of the works I contributed to. My Ph.D. Thesis has already been approved, but it is currently under embargo for a couple of years, due to some topics missing a publication (yet!).

Current Occupation

From January 2023 I am a Postdoctoral Researcher at the ReTiS Lab, following up on the topics that I worked on during my Ph.D. and collaborating to an European Project, AMPERE.

Prior Work Experience

Authorship of Books and Book Chapters

On "odd" years (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2021) I typically work as an independent contract author for Zanichelli editore (Italy). In the past I collaborated this way to a number of projects, authoring some chapters for high-school textbooks and manuals regarding the essentials of mobile application development for Android OS. Refer to my publications list for the full list of my contributions.

High-School Teaching and Tutoring

Between October 2018 and June 2019, during my senior year as a master student, I worked as a (part-time) high-school teacher for the Istituto di Istruzione Superiore "Vespucci-Colombo", Livorno (Italy), teaching IT and IT Laboratory for the school year 2018-2019 to both 10th and 11th grade students.

Throughout my university years I managed to help some high school students in STEM fields as their tutor, helping them with assignments in classes such as IT, Math, Electronics, and Physics.

Computer Assistance for Streaming and Media Recording

While studying for my Master's Degree, I also had a part-time job as a computer assistant for University of Pisa (Italy). My role was to assist technical-administrative personnel and teaching staff to provide live streaming of classes and international conferences held at University of Pisa.

Last update: 2023-10-17
Created: 2023-10-17